Part 4: The Dark Side

10 months later….

*

It was a little bit after 11 pm and I was heading to Waylon’s hut. Probably not a good hour for a girl to be going to bars, but I had agreed to meet Shani who works there as a bartender and keep her company for a while. Then we’d go home together.

Waylon’s hut was not the hottest of spots in Bridgeport, but it had some loyal fans. When I went there, there were still several people around, and Shani looked frustrated and tired. She had so much work that she didn’t even notice me when I sat on a barstool and started tapping my fingers on the bar.

“Hey you!! Bring me my drink and FAST!!” I shouted, pretending to be an aggravated customer. She turned to look at me with the most unimpassioned eyes I had ever seen on her and every muscle on her face was crying out weariness. When she realized who I was, she immediately wore a sweet smile.

“Aly! Thank God, I was bored to death. So what does my grumpiest client want? Milk on ice?” she teased me.

“Naah, let’s live it up a lil’ bit… I’ll have a diet coke. ” I said lamely.

Apparently Shani didn’t find it lame (besides, she started it) because she was chuckling while preparing my drink.

“Now, easy with that, okay? I don’t want to have to drag you home.” She laughed, as she left the coke on the counter. “Oh, honey, I’m so sorry I’m bringing you here. But I’d freak out alone.” she said smiling affectionately.

“Alone, without anyone responding positively and equally lamely to your lame jokes. We’re made for each other!” I said and we giggled like fools.

About two hours later most customers had left. Shani tidied the bar up and started turning off lights to notify the last few people that it was about time they left as well.

When all of them were gone, we went outside and waited for a cab. After several minutes had gone by without any cabs showing up, Shani got impatient.

“Hey Lou, I see no cabs around. Why don’t we walk instead? I feel kind of numb after all these hours standing.” She suggested.

“Okay…” I replied unsure. Is it wise for two girls to walk alone in the streets at 2.00 am?

“We’ll walk to the spooky building!” She said enthusiastically.

“Spooky building? We have a spooky building in the ‘hood?” I wondered.

“Yes, Lou, and it is only a few blocks from our home, opposite Marina Park” she said, frustrated by my total lack of observation skills.

“Aaaaah, you mean that gothic-style ol’ house”. I wasn’t sure what she found so exciting about it, but I decided to follow her. Besides, I needed that walk; I needed some fresh air, because the bar was so dry, smoked up and hot that it had caused me a headache.

When we reached the ‘spooky’ building, Shani stopped, turned around to face me and she said with excitement: “There’s light on the top floor. I wonder who lives there! I think we should go check the callbox”. She didn’t really wait for my consent. She just moved forward and climbed the stairs.

“Shani… I’m not sure whether we should be doing this. What if somebody sees us?” I said in a low tone. I was starting to feel anxious. Curiosity killed the cat they say and I had taken my lesson. I did follow her up the stairs, nevertheless.

When we reached the top of the stairs, I halted again. “Shani, they’ll think we’re thieves.” I said, and I laughed inwardly when I tried to picture Shani with her fuchsia blouse, yellow skirt and green stockings as a thief.

“Shhhh!!! Since when are you the voice of reason? Shut up and move!” she ordered and she grabbed my hand and started dragging me.

“Don’t you shhhh me lady!!…. I can’t believe this!” I responded angrily.

“Hmmm, let’s see. No name here, or here, or here…” she said while examining the callbox.

I admit I was a little curious myself to see who could be staying here. How the interior would be decorated, whether the inhabitants would be “followers” of the goth subculture, how they would be dressed, how old they…

“Looking for something, dears?” a male’s voice gave an end to my flying thoughts.

“Aaah!!!!” Shani screamed. “Oh… I’m … I … I was… eeh… We… we…” she gibbered.

“How eloquent, your friend. Perhaps… you have the ability to form sentences?” he told me in a sarcastic but rather amused tone as he walked towards us.

“We were just curious to see who lives here in such a, … uhm, great gothic building.” I replied trying to sound relaxed.

“And now that you saw? Is your curiosity sated, or would you like something more?” he said.

“Look… We apologize; it was so childish of us. I hope we didn’t bother you too much. We’ll leave now.” I said and Shani nodded her head in agreement still unable to utter a word.

“I would show you the interior too, but it would be terribly shameful of me to invite two beautiful girls over to my house in the middle of the night.” He smiled with a very charming smile.

“Yeah, besides, it’s only our first date.” I joked and immediately wished I could shut my mouth every time my terrible sense of humor tried to make an appearance. However, my line must have amused him, because he started laughing out loudly. Shani followed with an uncertain, he-laughs-I-should-laugh-too kind of laugh.

“We.. we should get going now. Once again, we’re sorry.” I said and we turned to leave. Shani rushed to the stairs after murmuring something that sounded like sorry.

“Is it possible that we know each other?” he asked me when I had already started descending the stairs.

I turned around and went up again, “I would definitely remember if that were so. Do I look familiar?” I asked.

“Very.” He looked at me steadily, as if he examined me. He slowly moved closer to me than what I was comfortable with. “You have been there.” His eyes had an almost unnatural shining.

“Uuuh.. Where?” I asked in confusion.

“The Dark Side” he said.

“The … what? I don’t recall having been somewhere with insufficient lighting. Now, if you excuse me..” I said, completely confused and just a little bit scared now. Is he insane?

He realized that he had frightened me and he took a step back. His eyes still a little bizarre but not as much as they had been before. “I am so sorry, I did not mean to scare you. I am Johan Vojak, by the way. Forget about the Dark Side, it is a place I, uh, hang out at, so I thought I had seen you there.” He said and he cracked a sexy smile.

“I’m Lou… eek! I mean… Alyssa. Richards. Nice to meet you, but I really need to go.” I said and I smiled back at him unable to resist his sexiness.

“Certainly. Have a good night. Oh, and again, I’m sorry” he grinned.

“I’m sorry too. For invading in your property. Looks like we’re even. Good night!” I said joyfully and went downstairs to meet up with Shani.

**Author’s Note: You may have noticed Johan is a vampire in-game. However, the story is NOT going to turn out to be a vampire story.

This entry was posted in Main story. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Part 4: The Dark Side

  1. ~Drew says:

    I love Alyssa’s quirky sense of humor. And Ooooo…is Johan tied in with the mysterious man in Egypt? Alyssa seems to attract these dark, dangerous, sexy men! Love it! And Johan is certainly all that.
    10 months later, and still no word of Ray? How horrible! Great shots and update!

    • Sfe says:

      Hi ~Drew!!

      I can’t say yet whether Johan is somehow related to the Egyptian man, but I can say that he is indeed dangerous… (and dark and sexy!!) And as we’ll see in the next chapter, there are a few more sexy boys around 😉

      Thank you so much for your support!! XX

  2. StyxLady says:

    Wow, it’s been 10 months? O.O I wonder if she’s heard any more about Ray or if they just closed the case or what! Hmm…The Dark Side. Maybe he’s referring to what happened in the pyramid. Johan is supremely creepy but cool. Can’t wait to see if he shows up again…

  3. Doons99P says:

    This continues to get better sfe! I liked the idea of the ’10 month’ later gap, but I’m very curious about Ray. Looking forward to more 🙂

    • Sfe says:

      Hi Doons!! Even though it’s been 10 months, Ray hasn’t been forgotten, that’s certain. We’ll see more about it in the next few updates. However, it’s going to be a while before we’ll start having real clues about what is going on.

      Thank you!!! I really appreciate your support! 🙂

  4. pinkfiend1 says:

    Vojak looks just right, based on how he appears so far. Great Sim creation. The vamp skin really suits him. His eyes are just luminous.
    It’s all so intriguing.

  5. illandrya says:

    Ooh, the dark side indeed … interesting twist! Did she meet this new stranger during the time she was blacked out in Egypt? I’m very interested to see where this takes her, something tells me that Aly’s curiosity may just get the better of her once again.

    • Sfe says:

      It is a possibility, she might have indeed met him then. Or… not. What is certain is that he knows or senses something about Alyssa that she’s not yet aware of.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!! XX

  6. Jennifer says:

    Haha, Alyssa is quite the character. I think she’d be quite fun on a night out in town. 😉
    I wonder what he meant by ‘the dark side’, a club maybe? Or something to do with her past? Very intrigued to find out! 🙂

    • Sfe says:

      Hi Jennifer! Yeah, Alyssa has an interesting personality. I’m glad you find the ‘dark side’ intriguing, I was hoping it would be 🙂

      Thank you for reading and commenting! Much appreciated! XX

Leave a Reply

